About Me


Convention Schedule


Birthdate: December 30, 1981
Current Location: Reston, Virginia
Hobbies: Costuming, video games, anime and cartoons, reading, singing
Likes: Stationery and pens, Firefly, celestial anything, fantasy fiction, Incubus, ancient history, mythology, sushi, fried alligator, classical music, arts and crafts, the smell of my grandma's fabric softener, Nine Inch Nails, hot chocolate and tea, windchimes, museums, cartoons (Duck Tales, Pirates of Dark Water, X-Men, and He-Man are my faves)...
Dislikes: Waking up early, drama, snow and cold places, fish, people who waste money, bad drivers, loud music, peanut butter, having my time wasted, SUVs...
Favorite colors: blue and black
Favorite anime: Fushigi Yugi, Wolf's Rain, Samurai Champloo, Cardcaptor Sakura, KURAU Phantom Memory, RahXephon, Berserk, Heroic Age, Gankutsuou, Mononoke/Ayakashi, Darker than Black, The Third, El Cazador de la Bruja, Ayashi no Ceres, Vision of Escaflowne, Fantstic Children, Miyazaki movies...
Favorite video games: FF 8/9/10, Lunar: Silver Star Story Complete, Alundra, Grandia, Legend of Dragoon, Chrono Cross/Trigger, Xenogears/saga, Kingdom Hearts, Skies of Arcadia: Legends, Valkyrie Profile, Devil May Cry, Star Ocean 2 & 3, Ys: Ark of Napishtim, Wild ARMs, Dark Cloud 2, Rogue Galaxy,

I started cosplaying in 2004 after a friend invited me to a convention. I knew I had to go in costume, and I have been going in costume ever since then. I really love making costumes, as well as my own clothing, and I'm always coming up with new and more ambitious ideas. I try very hard to remain true to the spirit of the characters I cosplay and recreate them as accurately as I can.

Even before trying my hand at costume-making, I was involved in arts and crafts from a very young age: sewing, embroidery, knitting, crocheting, doll-making, drawing and painting, weaving, etc. Halloween was always my favorite holiday, and I have tons of pictures of me dressed up in crazy costumes as a kid, mostly made by my mother. I fell in love with the theatrical arts in middle school and acted all the way up to college, focusing most of my attention on make-up, set building, and costumes. Upon beginning my trek through the world of cosplay, I have added many skills to my repertoire: fabric dyeing, beadwork and jewelry making, prop making, LEDs and wire work, applique, wig dyeing and styling, advanced machine and stitch-work, and the list keeps growing.

I began competing for craftsmanship awards in November 2006, and I continue to put my skills to the test, coming up with more detailed and extravagant costumes to compete with, but understanding that I am my own worst critic. As it is, I don't consider myself much of a cosplayer, as I am more interested in recreating costumes than acting like the characters. My goal is to someday become a top-class costume maker, and I am always trying to improve my skills so as to make my costumes more professional.

As for about my personal life, I grew up in small town Texas and later graduated from the University of Texas at Austin with a BA in Ancient History in 2004. I am quite the pessimist and I usually tend to keep to myself, but I will always take the time to talk to anyone who approaches me or interests me. I am pretty no-nonsense about the things in my life, and I am brutally honest and very straight to the point with people, which is quite unnerving to most. Being involved with cosplay has really shown me that there is time for a fun hobby in everyone's life, and I'm so glad I picked this one! Feel free to talk to me at a convention or in Joann's or online if you happen to see me.

2010 D^2 and FireLilyCosplay